The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Storyboard /

writing style

Page  Page 2 of 7: «« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 »»
Goodgulf
Male Author

Canada
SUBSCRIBER

#11 | Posted: 31 Jan 2011 17:58
The English language usually has many ways of saying the same thing.

For example:
I know not who ate the cookies.
I have no knowledge of who ate the cookies.
I do not know who ate the cookies.
I don't know who ate the cookies.

All four lines say the same thing. Which is most correct? It depends on the speaker. The last one is the one that most people would say, but at various times using contractions was a sign of poor education.

That said, here are a couple things that most grammar checkers look at.
a) Short, choppy sentences tend to get flagged as bad.
Something like "I saw a dog. It was a brown dog. It ran across the yard." usually flagged at a lower level than "I saw a brown dog running across the yard".

b) long run on sentences get flag.
Something "I saw the brown dog and it was running and it crossed Mrs. Smith's yard and ran up her steps then ran down and then it was licking itself and then ..." is technically allowed (because of all the links) but that should really be broken into shorter sentences.

c) short paragraphs get flagged.
If a paragraph is only a sentence or two long then some grammar checkers don't think you know how to work paragraphs.

d) long paragraphs get flagged.
Too long and most grammar checkers don't think you know how to use paragraphs.

e) Too many short words.
Most grammar checkers think that longer words mean you have a better vocabulary.

Before you get to hung up on those things, you should test the grammar checker. Take a best selling book. Either type in a few pages of it or find an ecopy and paste that in your word processer. Better yet, got get some public domain work like Dickens' Great Expectations or something by Mark Twain or another great writer whose work is now freely available.