Are challenges too much to read?

Page  Page 4 of 6: «« 1 2 3 4 5 6 »»
njrick
Male Author

USA
SUBSCRIBER

#31 | Posted: 10 Nov 2012 05:26
Februs:
it might be time to call it a day after that as personally I really don't need all the complaining that accompanies them.

I like the challenges. As an author I wouldn't change a thing about them. I like the variety - letters, poetry, limitations on length, etc., and enjoy the challenge presented by each. As a reader, though, I'm finicky - something that has to do with ME, not the challenges. I simply don't read all that many stories. I believe thaT, to be fair, I need to read ALL the entries if I'm going to be voting - yes, even those outside teh ones I would select to read. Last summer, though, I found myself skimming stories, even when I had more time to finish my voting, just to get done with the "assignment. I vowed I wouldn't do that again. I stopped reading by the time I got to the fourth story this time. THIS IS NOT A COMPLAINT about the challenges, or a criticism
of the writing in the entries. It's an admission of my own shortcoming. If there were a way to lower teh "workload" so that it becomes fun again, I'd welcome it. If there's no way to do that in a way acceptable to all or most, thn I say leave things as they are. The challenges have produced many great stories which I've enjoyed.

canadianspankee
Male Member

Canada
#32 | Posted: 10 Nov 2012 05:59
Everyone knows how the Challenges work, everyone has a choice to read or not. Everyone has a choice to vote or not, to comment or not. One has a choice to enter any amount of stories they want or nothing.

Every Challenge has some who mention such things like, too much to read, no validation to show the type of story genre, stories are too long or too short, and on and on. There will never be a Challenge out there acceptable to everyone on site, that is impossible for Februs, regardless of his techie skills.