LSF Wellred Weekly LSF publications Challenges
The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Smalltalk /

Comment thread spin-off

Page  Page 1 of 3: 1 2 3 »»
kdpierre
Male Author

USA
#1 | Posted: 26 Oct 2023 21:59
A few comments on the comment thread got me thinking. Several people mentioned a reluctance to criticize because it might discourage people. On the surface a noble notion to be sure, but consider some other examples:

An amateur cook decides to take their chili recipe to a chili festival. Should they expect only raves if their chili displeases most of the folks attending?

A self-taught painter decides to put their work in a local show. Same question.

These examples point out the fundamental difference between TRULY "writing for oneself" (like a journal of stories no one ever sees that gets dragged out each time the author wants to excite themselves) and writing and then choosing to submit that work for public scrutiny.

Now, I'm not advocating nastiness, especially if it's nastiness for nastiness' sake, but I don't see why every public venue needs to be a 'safe space'? When I was getting my Master's in Fine Art, we did "crits". And let me tell you, they could be BRUTAL. BUT......they served a purpose! They were meant to challenge one's work to make each new effort better.

So what do you all think? Does the safe treatment apply once someone decides to publish? Does avoiding criticism help anyone?

I'm curious to hear some thoughts.

AlanBarr
Male Author

England
SUBSCRIBER

#2 | Posted: 26 Oct 2023 23:44
kdpierre:
Does avoiding criticism help anyone?