LSF Wellred Weekly LSF publications Challenges
The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Smalltalk /

What is your story length preference

Page  Page 1 of 2: 1 2 »»
Lonewulf
Male Member

USA
#1 | Posted: 2 Jul 2020 17:37
As a reader, I'm prone to long winded tales. That said, not tales that drone on an on, saying a lot about nothing much, in general. Obviously, being entertaining during that long winded exposition is critical to continued reading, but how long is long?

According to one source:
Micro fiction = 500 words
Flash fiction = between 500 to 1000 words (but up to 1500)
Short story = up to 7500 words (but up to 10,000)
Novelettes = between 7500 up to 15,000 words (but up to 20,000) or around 100 pages
Novellas = 15,000 up to 40,000 words (but up to 60,000) or about 100 to 200 pages
Novels = 40,000 plus words (or 60,000 plus)

As a writer, I've never limited myself to a minimum or maximum, and just wrote until I was finished saying what I had to say. (ranging from about 7500 to 15,000 words)

As a reader, I can read any number of chapters, preferring a minimum of around 2,500 up to 15,000 words per chapter. In books, I can/have read 200 page books in a day (depending on available time) but it isn't a race and take my time to savor the tale being told.
That said, intriguing story concepts might trigger my curiosity despite the briefness of word count (but I'll still whinge about shortness).

Alef
Male Author

Norway
#2 | Posted: 2 Jul 2020 17:46
For me, there's a difference between reading from a screen and reading from paper. I am not very fond of reading on a screen, and I must admit I am often reluctant to start reading stories in here that are more than 5-6000 words long. I suppose that puts me in the short story range, although on paper I usually prefer novels to short stories.

Lonewulf
Male Member

USA
#3 | Posted: 2 Jul 2020 18:04
Alef
That's an interesting aspect I didn't touch on; digital opposed to book format.