LSF Wellred Weekly LSF publications Challenges
The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Smalltalk /

Sorry for not being around

RikSpanks
Male Author

USA
#1 | Posted: 3 Jul 2015 01:50
Heyo -

Some of you are waiting for the next chapter in my "Pamela & Richard" serial ... the story that, with it's posting here, I hoped would encourage me to start writing again.

Well, damn timing and real life.

Shortly after posting the last existing chapter, my manager at my job quit, and I became the candidate for the management position. For the last two years, I've been a cook in a retirement home. I feed elderly people.

Since my previous manager quit, and I became the primary candidate for the Dining Services Manager position, I've been at work almost every day. I've had, like, four days off in the last six weeks.

You would not believe what I have to go through to hire people. Decades ago, "nursing homes" were, apparently, a nightmare. "Nursing homes" were places where people dropped off their inconveniently-old parents to live out the rest of their lives. These old people were shuffled into these places, where they had to deal with people stealing their stuff and verbally and physically abusing them. When this came to light, laws were passed.

So now, to be able to work in one of these places, you have to pass an FBI background check, to make sure that you don't have anything in your past that would suggest you might be a risk to "vulnerable seniors". I don't work in a "nursing home", I work in a "retirement community". The majority of my "customers" are elderly men and women who can take care of themselves (these people live in the "Independent Living" side of the facility). They all have their own apartments within the building, and they come to the dining room for meals. My job is to make sure that these wonderful people can enjoy their retirement by eating good meals.