The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Storyboard /

What Is A Spanking Story?

Page  Page 1 of 4: 1 2 3 4 »»
BashfulBob
Male Author

Ireland
SUBSCRIBER

#1 | Posted: 17 Nov 2014 23:14
The recent Challenge marks the second anniversary of my first ever spanking story - in fact, a story of any type. Now, two years later, just as I was beginning to think of myself as a veteran, I have suddenly discovered I am no longer sure I know what a spanking story is. A number of things have prompted this. One was reading that one of the most talented writers on this site wished to withdraw some stories because they were, in her opinion (but not mine), BDSM stories rather than spanking stories. I have also come across comments on other writers' stories along the lines of "although the story involved spanking, it was not really a spanking story". In some instances it may be that the reader felt the spanking content was too peripheral to the rest of the story, but my impression was that some readers were suggesting the spanking content was not what they regarded as 'spanking'.

This raises the obvious question: what is a spanking story? Is it a question of consensuality? Surely not, or there would be no non-consensual spanking stories. Maybe it is a question of severity? The spankings some of us describe are much more severe than we would be happy about in real life; maybe some readers are less able, or willing, to draw a distinction between fantasy and reality - especially if the spanking is unjust. Or maybe it is something to do with the implements used. For example, in my mind 'caning' is not the same as 'spanking' (although I enjoy caning stories as much as the next person).