LSF Wellred Weekly LSF publications Challenges
The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Storyboard /

The Reasons For Writing

Page  Page 3 of 3: «« 1 2 3
rachelredbum
Female Author

USA
#21 | Posted: 11 Feb 2014 18:48
Mine was more seminar style. We would write stories or poems or plays and then one would be discussed during the next class period. There was almost no formal class instruction.

islandcarol
Female Author

USA
#22 | Posted: 11 Feb 2014 20:14
Arcane359:
That made me think a while. Do I really just write for my own gratification?

All of this packing and unpacking in my big move to the South has unearthed journals I have not looked at for years. I've been writing them since I was 10 years old. I've always written for me. I have notebooks of poems I've composed, for me, that I share in a class or the collection of family stories I wrote for my Dad after my mother passed in 2007.
But what good is writing - other than journals that express feelings that might best remain private, if it is to examine our acts and make sense of our lives. As I packed I often came across drawers full of thank you notes for condolence poems over the year I'd completely forgotten I'd penned. A shelf full of notebooks from classes, poetry readings, memories from my children; these journals are more vivid than any photos I shot.
All writers write to be read. That's the purpose of writing. When I was in school, the only one who read what I wrote was the teacher. No one shared, there was no such thing as author's chairs or read around groups where kids could get feedback from their classmates. We wrote in isolation.

Here, I write for all of you. I do it because I enjoy the act of writing and you tell me you enjoy reading it.