LSF Wellred Weekly LSF publications Challenges
The Library of Spanking Fiction Forum / Storyboard /

Writing outside your genre

Page  Page 1 of 4: 1 2 3 4 »»
BrigittaCoral
Female Author

USA
#1 | Posted: 1 Aug 2017 03:57
I think most spankos have things they prefer and things they dislike. They might not like sex in stories, they might not like minors being spanked. They might adore school stories or seek out F/M stories.

As a writer, I tend to have a niche. Most of the stories I write are consensual, adult only and usually feature a female spankee. I avoid spanking stories between people who are related. This works out fine 'cause there are plenty of other people writing stories with that focus.

So my question to other writers is this: Do you ever write stories that are totally outside your comfort zone? That have pairings or settings that you normally dislike? If so, what inspires you do write them?

rnr
Male Author

Wales
#2 | Posted: 1 Aug 2017 08:19
This is a question I also wrestle with.
I find I can only write fluently, if I stay within the broad scenario range that I enjoy reading myself.
I seek to keep just within the envelope of plausibility. To achieve this I try to integrate the spankings within a developed storyline which ideally would be worth reading even if the spanking was excluded.
The spankings themselves arise from discipline and care and are accepted although not welcomed by the spankees. The stories are totally asexual.
Spankees are often in their late teens but find themselves through one device or another being treated as though they were several years younger and maybe in a social environment where spanking is more normal than in their previous experience.
Spankees are male or female as are spankers, although females predominate.
This 'genre' appears quite a limited niche, both for authors and also in terms of what I perceive readers to be attracted to.